Electric Bicycles

Electric bicycles, commonly known as e-bikes, have become increasingly popular in Canyon Lake due to their ability to provide people of various ages and abilities with an assisted cycling experience via an electric power option. Similar to traditional bicycles, e-bikes come in various styles, including cargo e-bikes, beach cruisers, and mountain bikes, offering versatility and enjoyment in different ways. E-bikes also offer an excellent alternative to using a car for local travel.

Definition & Classifications

Definition & Classifications

If you ride, or are considering riding an e-bike in and around Canyon Lake, it's important to take the time to familiarize yourself with the allowed and restricted activities, understand the applicable laws, and adhere to guidelines and recommendations for the safety of yourself and others. According to Section 231 of the California Vehicle Code (CVC) Section 312.5(a) of the CVC defines an electric bicycle equipped with fully operable pedals and an electric motor of less than 750 watts. California Electric Bicycle Policy designates four classes of electric bikes; classes one through three are permitted in Canyon Lake with a max speed of 20 mph. Class four electric bikes are not permitted in Canyon Lake.


Types of Electric Bicycles Allowed In Canyon Lake

Class 1 Class 2 Class 3
Definition Low-seed or low-speed pedal assisted Low-speed pedal assisted Speed pedal assisted
Speed Limit 20 mph 20 mph 20 mph
Power Rating 750 watts 750 watts 750 watts
Driver's License No No No
Helmet Requirement Under 18 (must be securely fastened) Under 18 (must be securely fastened) All riders/passengers (must be securely fastened)
Additional Equipment None None Must be equipped with speedometer
Age Requirement None None 16+ years

Registration & Safety Exam

Registration & Safety Exam


To ensure a safe and enjoyable riding experience within Canyon Lake, all electric bicycles must be registered with the Canyon Lake POA. Members can register by being in good standing, obtaining authorization, and completing the Canyon Lake POA Electric Bicycle Safety Exam. Displaying the mandatory Canyon Lake POA-issued tags not only signifies compliance but also aids in identifying registered e-bikes within the community. Failure to register may incur a $100 fine, emphasizing the importance of adherence to these guidelines (General Rules, 5.2.a).

Safety Exam

All electric bicycle riders must take the Canyon Lake POA Electric Bicycle Safety Exam. Use the information on this page as a reference when taking this exam. Results of this exam are emailed to the Canyon Lake POA. Exams may be taken more than once. 

Safety Gear & Equipment

Safety Gear & Equipment

Registration Tag

Upon successful registration of the electric bicycle with the Canyon Lake POA, authorized members receive registration tags. These tags must be securely placed in a location that guarantees visibility from the rear of the bicycle.


Riders under the age of 18, must always wear a securely fastened helmet to uphold their safety and reduce the likelihood of head injuries. (General Rule, 5.2a)

Headlights & Tail Lights

To enhance visibility during low light conditions, all electric bicycles must be equipped with headlights and taillights, and these lights must be turned on when riding after sunset or before sunrise. This regulation ensures the safety of riders and helps prevent accidents. Violating this requirement may result in a $100 fine (General Rules, 5.2c).


All electric bicycles must be equipped with functional pedals and pedal assist functionality. This requirement aims to maintain the integrity of electric bicycles and promote a consistent riding experience. Non-compliance may result in a $100 fine (General Rules, 5.2g).

Responsible Riding

Responsible Riding

Reckless or Unsafe Riding

Engaging in reckless or unsafe riding practices, such as weaving through traffic, running stop signs, using cellular devices, or performing wheelies, is strictly prohibited. This regulation ensures the safety of both riders and pedestrians. Violations may result in a $200 fine (General Rules, 5.2f).


For safety reasons, only one rider per seat or floorboard is allowed on personal electric devices. This restriction aims to prevent accidents and maintain control over the devices. Violating this rule may result in a $100 fine (General Rules, 5.2e).

Yield to Community Patrol

All riders, including those on personal electric devices, must yield to Community Patrol when requested. This includes regular bicycles, scooters, skateboards, and other similar devices. Failure to yield may result in a $200 fine (General Rules, 5.2h).

California Vehicle Code Rules

  • Come to a complete stop at all stop signs.
  • Pedestrians have the right of way when crossing the street.
  • Yield to emergency vehicles by pulling to the right and stopping.
  • Never use a cellular device while riding.
  • Bicycle hand signals: